As I steer away from LISK.com for a moment and focus on a few specifics, I’d like to leave it with another view from someone who was there:

Just a note from an old timer, the chat room never worked.  It would work for a day and then it would be down for days.  I could never get it to run on my computer.  And I was not the only one.  I think it was only around for a few weeks as I recall.

Another point you bring up, the admin didn’t seem to be around much.  It was like a little side project.  i really think they only checked it once a day.  It was like you would send in an email and the next morning it would show up in the email section where others could comment on it.  And later when people began to complain about the site not moderating comments, you post something and like three hours later it would post.

when all of the screen names got out of hand and someone started posting personal information like Mari Gilbert’s telephone number, the site admin began allowing one of the family members to help moderate the site.  I am guessing this is the same family member who has given you access to the archived site.

Also, the point keeps coming up that people couldn’t see these comments, that the site didn’t go back this far.  Well, the site actually closed down for a little while.  A week or so.  When it came back, all the old stuff was gone.  I walked away just before this happened.  And it helped me quit coming to the site.  All these grown adults acting like children.  People from the webslueths coming over to LISK to push their theories.  Foreigner even accused one of the Atlantic City victims’ husband of being the serial killer.  Hugh Auslander, who is mentioned in the article above.  He started posting on LISK to defend himself.  It was crazy.  Grasping as straws and ruining people’s reputations.  REAL people with REAL lives.  I wanted no part of it.  I could only imagine what CPH was going through.  No matter what he did or didn’t do, he and his whole family become cannon fodder for the armchair detective army.  Nevermind all the so called “facts” being spewed by Flukeyou aka JS jr.

I wanted to solve a puzzle not crucify innocent people.  And all the theories in the world will not solve this puzzle.  It needs pieces that fit.  And that takes evidence.  Without evidence there is nothing but speculation.  We had not right to convict someone of a crime with nothing more than speculation in the court of public opinion.  If I had been CPH I would have sued the owner of the LISK website for libel and negligence.

As for my theory of what the LISK was created for, it seems I read a statement either in an interview or in the comments somewhere.  They wanted ownership of the domain name so when the killer was caught they could sell the site and make some money.  When the site was first created they were selling T-Shirts.  It was always about profit.  All the drama going on with the people who posted there increased the potential bottom line.  Every hit was a number they could use to attract advertisers.  So they could sell the site for more money.  It was a side business while they did their day job.

I don’t know for sure who actually owned the site but I have some theories.  And there were people who I spoke to off line who claimed to have personal ties and influence with the site owner.  Claimed to have known them all their lives.  So either that person was the site owner or was a relative.  I’m guessing brother and sister, or childhood BFF.

